Canadian Professional Association for Transgender Health

Donate Search

March, 2022

Greetings CPATH member or community partner,

We hope this finds you well. Please find below, updates on the interim board, the upcoming AGM, and other important links.

Board Update

We are excited to announce that we have appointed an Interim Board comprised of 6 members including a President, Treasurer, Secretary and 3 members at large! We are grateful to our members for their patience and contributions to CPATH as we restructured.

Over the last month, CPATH faced the sudden resignation of 3 board members. Their resignations were accepted and we honour their reasons for leaving. We recognize that burnout is constant when working within not for profit models and volunteer led organizations. 

The last board member’s resignation on March 8, 2022 left Dr. Percy Lezard as the sole board member responsible for CPATH’s sustainability and end of fiscal year fiduciary responsibilities. In order for the organization to do business and complete the end of the year we held two emergency meetings March 16th and 19th to discuss with members who were able to attend.

In order for operations of the current funded projects to be carried out by March 31st, and a new funding proposal be submitted for the coming year, and to act in good faith for the organization and in accordance with CPATH bylaws and the BC Societies Act, on Saturday the 19th Percy appointed Board Members to serve until the AGM April 3, 2022 when a usual nomination & election process can occur.

These new board members have been confirmed to be members of the organization in good standing for at least 2 weeks prior to the AGM and agreed to be appointed to the following positions:

President, Robyn Hodgson
Secretary, Elliot Chapple
Treasurer, Percy Lezard
And, 3 Members at Large:
Francois Susset
Howard Krieger
Seanna Goalen

AGM Information

We welcome you to join us for our AGM. We look forward to updating you on our work this year! 

AGM registration is required by April 1st. A zoom link and agenda will be sent the day before the AGM to registered guests.

Register here: https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/cpath-annual-general-meeting-tickets-297904629767

We welcome folks to get in touch if you would like to run for the board at the AGM on April 3rd, We are seeking 5-15 new board members who are excited about helping to serve changes towards being a more equitable organization going forward. 

We especially offer a warm invite to folks who are gender diverse and/or 2QTBIPOC, and have medical/wellness provider experience. If you are interested but not sure this is a fit, we encourage you to reach out to Min, at governance@cpath.ca  Please also share this with others who you think might be a good fit.

Board Application info here.

Other Information

For more information about what has been happening, please see this recent update on the website.

You may also wish to refer back to the letter from the Board in October, if you had missed that (below)

*

October 2021

Dear CPATH members, community partners, and supporters,

The CPATH Board  greets you with good wishes for the health of you and yours. We acknowledge that you have not heard from us in a while. Here is an update on what’s been going on behind the scenes.

It was clear after the 2019 conference in Montreal that CPATH needs to make significant changes. At the 2020 AGM, many historical issues were further discussed and the new CPATH board committed to regroup and re-evaluate CPATH’s approach to membership, gatherings and engagement.  We decided to pause on planning a future conference until we can do better, and seek funding for next steps. 

In early 2021 we received WAGE funding [Women And Gender Equality: 2SLGBTQ+ Capacity Building fund] to conduct re-visioning and strategic planning for CPATH’s future. We are eager to share some details with you, and to invite your participation. 

Most importantly, in this process we want to address community feedback surrounding the 2019 (and previous) conferences – that there continues to be an unacceptable chasm between CPATH, and community members /  community-based partner orgs. 

Obstacles in CPATH’s organizational structure, policies and conference procedures have prevented Black, Indigenous and racialized trans and gender diverse people from attending or speaking at the annual conference, and from meaningful involvement generally. We understand these barriers are not limited to, but include:

  • The financial model of membership and conferences, historically, has required most presenters to pay to attend and present.  Although there have been some scholarships available, the cost has meant that those without these financial resources have been excluded.
  • There is significant labour held by trans and gender diverse community members and presenters in doing this work. To be asked to pay to teach increases the emotional and financial burden on community members.
  • There are many students, and unpaid/ underpaid trans and gender diverse community members who can’t afford to attend and meaningfully participate in the conference.
  • The planning of the conference has not always included local community groups and representatives to ensure the conference is accountable to local community needs.
  • The structure of the in-conference proceedings privilege dominant, ‘scientific’, Western, colonial ways of presenting and learning and don’t make adequate space for alternative ways of teaching, learning and knowing.  (E.g. Presenters have struggled to squeeze their rich knowledges into 15-minute panel-style presentations) 
  • CPATH’s membership criteria and board composition have not historically ensured accountable representation by folks with relevant lived experience.

With temporary funding in place to support next steps, we are launching this new work in the spirit of working in better ways with all of our stakeholders, especially Two-Spirit, BIPOC Trans/NB and all gender diverse people, care/service providers and communities.

The current CPATH Board is meeting almost weekly to do this work. We hope that you will continue or renew your membership, be patient with us and join with us as we work together to accomplish this difficult, necessary and important transition. 

To read more about specific activities – please see the WAGE project page on our website, which will be updated throughout the year.

An AGM is likely to be held in Feb 2022, exact date will be announced via the mail list soon. 

Ways to join us:

  • Guide us in the work! Please complete this survey on the future of CPATH. Survey will close November 10th end of day. Questions/comments about the survey? Email community@cpath.ca
  • Renew your membership, or become a member if you aren’t currently. (We are working to review and adjust membership pricing + processes, in the meantime if you face barriers to membership, please email governance@cpath.ca.)
  • We are seeking a few new board members, in particular Two-Spirit Indigenous and racialized trans and gender diverse folks are encouraged to apply. If the application form is a barrier in any way please email governance@cpath.ca
  • If you do not wish to be a member, but want updates about our progress this year, please click here to subscribe to the CPATH maillist.
  • For any other ideas or questions please feel free to email us at info@cpath.ca 

 

We wish you and yours the best of life and health in the days ahead,

Sincerely,
the CPATH Board

Dr. Michael Marshall
Percy Lezard
Lorraine Grieves
Gin Marshall

Association Professionnelle pour la Santé Transgenre

Faire un don Rechercher

Mars 2022

Salutations membre CPATH ou partenaire communautaire, 

Nous espérons que cela vous trouvera bien. Veuillez trouver ci-dessous des mises à jour sur le conseil d’administration intérimaire, la prochaine AGA et d’autres liens importants. 

Mise à jour du conseil

Nous sommes ravis d’annoncer que nous avons nommé un conseil d’administration intérimaire composé de 6 membres, dont un président, un trésorier, un secrétaire et 3 membres en général ! Nous sommes reconnaissants à nos membres pour leur patience et leurs contributions à la CPATH lors de notre restructuration.

Au cours du mois dernier, la CPATH a dû faire face à la démission soudaine de 3 membres du conseil d’administration. Leurs démissions ont été acceptées et nous respectons les raisons de leur départ. Nous reconnaissons que l’épuisement professionnel est constant lorsque nous travaillons au sein de modèles à but non lucratif et d’organisations dirigées par des bénévoles.

La démission du dernier membre du conseil le 8 mars 2022 a laissé le Dr Percy Lezard comme le seul membre du conseil responsable de la durabilité de CPATH et des responsabilités fiduciaires de fin d’exercice. Afin que l’organisation puisse faire des affaires et terminer la fin de l’année, nous avons tenu deux réunions d’urgence les 16 et 19 mars pour discuter avec les membres qui ont pu y assister.

Afin que les opérations des projets actuellement financés soient réalisées d’ici le 31 mars et qu’une nouvelle proposition de financement soit soumise pour l’année à venir, et d’agir de bonne foi pour l’organisation et conformément aux statuts de la CPATH et à la BC Societies Act, le samedi 19, Percy a nommé les membres du conseil d’administration pour siéger jusqu’à l’AGA du 3 avril 2022, date à laquelle un processus habituel de nomination et d’élection peut avoir lieu.

Ces nouveaux membres du conseil d’administration ont été confirmés comme membres en règle de l’organisation depuis au moins 2 semaines avant l’AGA et ont accepté d’être nommés aux postes suivants :

Président, Robyn Hodgson
Secrétaire, Elliot Chapple
Trésorier, Percy Lezard
Et, 3 membres en général :
François Susset
Howard Krieger
Seanna Goalen

Informations sur l’AGA

Nous vous invitons à nous joindre pour notre assemblée générale. Nous sommes impatients de vous informer sur notre travail cette année !

L’inscription à l’AGA est obligatoire avant le 1er avril. Un lien zoom et l’ordre du jour seront envoyés la veille de l’AGA aux invités inscrits.

Inscrivez-vous ici : https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/cpath-annual-general-meeting-tickets-297904629767

Nous invitons les gens à nous contacter si vous souhaitez vous présenter au conseil d’administration lors de l’AGA du 3 avril. Nous recherchons 5 à 15 nouveaux membres du conseil d’administration qui sont ravis d’aider à servir les changements vers une organisation plus équitable à l’avenir.

Nous offrons particulièrement une invitation chaleureuse aux personnes qui sont de genres divers et/ou 2QTNIR (Deux Esprits, Queer, Trans, Noires, Indigène, et Racialisées) et qui ont une expérience médicale/de bien-être. Si vous êtes intéressé mais que vous n’êtes pas sûr que cela convienne, nous vous encourageons à contacter Min, à governance@cpath.ca. Veuillez également partager ceci avec d’autres personnes qui, selon vous, pourraient convenir.

Informations sur l’application du conseil ici


Autres informations

Pour plus d’informations sur ce qui s’est passé, veuillez consulter cette mise à jour récente sur le site Web.

Vous pouvez également vous reporter à la lettre du conseil d’administration de octobre, si vous l’aviez manquée (voir ci-dessous).

*

Octobre 2021

Chèr∙e∙s membres, partenaires communautaires et supportrices∙eurs du CPATH,

Le conseil d’administration du CPATH vous salue et vous souhaite une bonne santé à vous et les vôtres. Nous reconnaissons que ça fait un moment depuis notre dernière communication, et nous souhaitons donc partager ce petit bilan et mise à jour de nos activités en arrière des coulisses.

Après la conférence à Montréal en 2019, il est devenu évident que le CPATH a besoin d’entreprendre une transformation importante. À l’assemblée générale en 2020, de nombreuses discussions sur des problèmes de longue date ont eu lieu, et le nouveau conseil d’administration s’est engagé à examiner de près l’approche du CPATH en ce qui concerne ses membres, ses événements, et son engagement. Nous avons donc décidé de prendre une pause sur la planification de notre prochaine conférence jusqu’à ce qu’on puisse faire mieux, et de chercher le financement nécessaire pour assurer la réalisation des prochaines étapes.

En début 2021, nous avons reçu du financement à travers le Fonds de développement des capacités communautaires LGBTQ2 de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada pour réviser la vision et mener de la planification stratégique pour l’avenir du CPATH. Nous avons hâte de partager avec vous quelques détails sur ce travail, et nous souhaitons également vous inviter à participer dans cette démarche. 

À travers ce processus, nous voulons répondre à la rétroaction communautaire en lien avec la conférence de 2019 (ainsi que les conférences précédentes) qu’un gouffre perdure entre le CPATH et les membres communautaires/organismes partenaires. 

La structure organisationnelle, les politiques et les procédures du CPATH ont empêché la pleine participation des personnes Noires, Autochtones, et racisées trans et diverses dans le genre lors de nos conférences annuelles et nos activités générales. Nous savons que ces barrières comprennent, entre autres:

  • La cotisation des membres et le coût des conférences ont nécessité que les présentatrices∙eurs payent pour participer et partager leurs connaissances. Bien que des bourses ont existé, ce coût a empêché les individus sans aide institutionnelle d’assister aux conférences.
  • Les membres communautaires trans et diverses dans le genre sont en train de faire du travail essentiel dans ce domaine. Les demander de payer pour partager leurs savoirs amplifie le fardeau émotionnel et financier sur leurs épaules.
  • En plus, de nombreuses∙x étudiant∙e∙s et membres communautaires trans et diverses dans le genre sont impayé∙e∙s ou sous-payé∙e∙s, et ne peuvent pas se permettre de participer à fond dans la conférence.
  • La planification de la conférence n’a pas toujours tenu compte des organismes communautaires locaux pour assurer que la conférence réponde aux besoins communautaires sur le terrain.
  • La structure de la conférence met en valeur les présentations et les partages de savoir qui se reposent sur les méthodes dominantes, ‘scientifiques’, occidentales, ou colonisatrices, et cède trop peu de place aux connaissances et méthodes de partage ou d’apprentissage traditionnels ou alternatives. (Par exemple, certain∙e∙s présentat∙rices∙eurs peinaient à partager la totalité de leurs connaissances approfondies dans les 15 minutes accordées à leur présentation.)
  • Les critères d’adhésion du CPATH et son conseil n’ont pas assuré la présence de membres qui représentent et qui sont redevables aux communautés aux expériences vécues pertinentes.

Avec un financement temporaire en place pour appuyer cette démarche, nous nous lançons dans ce travail dans l’esprit d’une meilleure coopération avec toutes nos parties prenantes, en particulier les personnes bispirituelles, trans, non binaires Noires, Autochtones, et racisées ainsi que toutes les personnes issues de la diversité du genre et les fournisseurs de services et de soins de santé.

 Le conseil d’administration actuel du CPATH se rencontre presque chaque semaine pour accomplir ce travail. Nous espérons que vous continuerez d’être membre de notre organisation, que vous serez patient∙e avec nous et que vous vous joindrez à nous pendant que nous entreprenons cette transition difficile, nécessaire, et essentielle. 

Pour apprendre davantage sur nos activités, consulter la page du projet Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada sur notre site web, que nous actualiserons au fur et à mesure de l’année.

Les dates pour notre assemblée générale en fin 2021 ou début 2022 seront bientôt annoncées à travers notre infolettre.

Pour nous rejoindre:

  • Guidez-nous dans ce travail ! Nous vous invitons à remplir ce questionnaire pour guider l’avenir de CPATH. Ce questionnaire sera disponible jusqu’au 10 novembre en fin de journée. Questions ou commentaires sur le questionnaire ? Écrivez-nous à community@cpath.ca
  • Renouveler votre adhésion ou devenir membre si vous ne l’êtes pas encore. (Nous sommes en train de réviser la procédure d’adhésion des membres, entretemps si vous rencontrez des problèmes avec la démarche d’abonnement, écrivez-nous.)
  • Nous cherchons des nouvelles∙aux membres pour le conseil d’administration, et en particulier nous encourageons les personnes bispirituelles Autochtones et les personnes racisées trans et non binaires de nous envoyer leurs candidatures. Si vous rencontrez un problème quelconque qui vous empêche de déposer votre candidature, veuillez nous écrire à governance@cpath.ca 
  • Si vous ne voulez pas devenir membre, mais vous souhaiteriez continuer de recevoir des mises à jour sur notre progrès cette année, veuillez cliquer ici pour vous inscrire à l’infolettre CPATH.
  • Envoyer vos questions ou vos commentaires à info@cpath.ca  


Nous vous souhaitons à vous et aux vôtres le meilleur de la vie et de la santé dans les jours à venir,

Cordialement, 

Le conseil d’administration de CPATH

Dr Michael Marshall
Percy Lezard
Lorraine Grieves
Gin Marshall